Amy Jo Parish

Guest writer

Founded on May 14, 1987, the Maple Valley Memorial Scholarship Foundation (MVMSF) has been helping graduates meet their goals, and this year is no exception. The foundation was founded by two retired Maple Valley school teachers on the principal that every graduating Maple Valley Schools student deserved a chance to continue their studies. It provides scholarships to college- or trade school-bound seniors or alumni. This year, the foundation is awarding $56,400 to deserving students.

“We are proud to continue the vision that began with just a few dollars and the dedication of two leaders, Dorothy Carpenter and Junia Jarvie,” said current foundation president Kyle Booher. “The foundation recognizes not only the accomplishments of those graduating, but keeps the memories of many community members alive through named scholarships and I, along with the rest of the board are extremely humbled to be part of such an amazing community legacy.”

This year’s recipients include: Alison Hartwell – Dorothy Edmonds Scholarship, Eli Nelson – H. Hugh Hickok Scholarship, Garrett Pearson – Lloyd J. and Frances H. Eaton Scholarship, Ben Benedict – Wayne Fuller Scholarship, Emily Izler – Elizabeth Good Scholarship, Kaycie Schrader – Dorothy and Elbert Carpenter Family Scholarship, Lexxis Musser – William and Jarnee Fox Family Scholarship, Aubrey Pintar – Alice Keihl Scholarship, Gloria Guernsey – Delmar and Thelma Carr Scholarship, Devin Thompson – Tony Dunkelberger Scholarship, Jenna Weiler – Friends of Tony Dunkelberger Scholarship, Elizabeth Colyer – Duane and Ruth Ann Hamilton Scholarship, Casey Hoyle – Burr Hartenburg Scholarship, Ryleigh Courter – John Kent Scholarship, Cameron Wells – Valerie Edmonds Linter Scholarship, Jilliann Moore – Nashville Housing Corporation Scholarship, Logan Boldrey – Hinman H. Sackett Scholarship, Ashalee Ehlers – Eloise E. Wheeler Scholarship, Noah Hansen – Zemke Family Scholarship, San Hochstetler – Robert Siple Scholarship, Sydonna Hammond – Lois Siple Scholarship, Gavin Booher – Marilyn Rodgers Scholarship, Josey Terpening – Diane Ward FFA Memorial Scholarship, Charles Smith Frazier – Mark M. Montgomery Scholarship.

Dorothy Edmonds Scholarship recipients include: Cassie Linn, Stacie Ellison and Bekah Mater. Trevor Duffey is awarded the Tate Mix Pathways Scholarship.

Alumni Scholarships awarded include: Britani Shilton, Austin Zank, Jacob Moore, Jaden Rosenberg, Emma Franklin, McKayla Weiler, Katelyn Cheeseman, Carlee Allen, Justin Moore, Molly Walker, Hannah McGlocklin and Hali Trowbridge.

The foundation is an affiliate of the Barry Community Foundation. Visit the MVMSF on Facebook or at for more information.