By Dalenna Montague 

Olivet FFA Reporter

On March 8, 9 and 10, the Olivet FFA received awards at the State FFA Convention held at Michigan State University.

Kelsie Letts was elected as the State Region I Vice President of the Michigan FFA Association.  Other special recognition includes: Todd and Sharon Williams, and Jill Cords received the State Honorary FFA Degree.

Many individuals received awards. Marcus Pennington, Elyse Zimmerlee, Anna Williams, Catie Graham, Kelsie Letts, Andrew Wietzke, and Jayson Rugg received the Academic Excellence Award. Abby Puskala, Anna Williams, and Paige Fountain received the Washington Leadership Conference Scholarship. Joe Adams, Paige Fountain, Laurel Griffin, Dylan Lashley, Abby Puskala, Jayson Rugg, and Anna Williams received the Outstanding Junior Award. Kelsie Letts received a silver award for her State FFA Degree. Elyse Zimmerlee, Caitlynn Graham, Andrew Wietzke, and Mackenzi Lambka also received the State FFA Degree.  Abby Puskala also received the Challenge 24 scholarship for those considering a career as an Agriscience Teacher and FFA Advisor.

Kelsie Letts received fourth place gold in the Prepared Public Speaking Contest; Andrew Wietzke placed ninth silver in the Extemporaneous Public Speaking Contest; Abby Puskala placed 10th in the Job Interview Contest, and the Parliamentary Procedure team that consisted of Marcus Pennington, Paige Fountain, Ben Brown, Wyatt Simon, Julianna Adams, Jayson Rugg, Chevelle Bowles, and Dezzi Cotton placed sixth with a silver award.

The chapter was recognized with the following awards: A silver rating for the National Chapter Award, the superior chapter award, and fifth place in the Speak Up For Agriculture program (this is for the agricultural literacy day we host at the Calhoun County fairgrounds in which over 650 elementary students learn where their food comes from).

We would like to give a big thanks to our chaperones: Bill Schele, Nick VanDeMoortel, Todd and Sharon Williams, Cassy Puskala, Doug and Dawn Pennington, Jessica Fountain, Sydney Miller, Teri Letts, Jared Miller, and Michelle Kiss.