Select Page

Month: April 2017

New president to usher in 77th Annual Vermontville Maple Syrup Festival

Mary Ann Hayes has worked the Vermontville Maple Syrup Festival in one capacity or another for 11 years. Her dedication has been valuable, but comes at a small personal price — she’s never actually seen a Syrup Festival parade. Mary Ann, wife of new Maple Syrup Corporation Festival President, Steve Hayes, is hoping her new support role will provide a small change. “I’ve never seen the parade before, or the princess pageant,” Mary Ann said. “I might actually get to step away from the cotton candy machine at Maple Manor and get to see some of that this year.”...

Read More

CHS partnership with Ferris State aids students with new scholarship

At a Charlotte Board of Education meeting Monday, April 17, President of Ferris State University, Dr. David Eisler, presented Charlotte Public Schools superintendent, Mark Rosekrans with a new scholarship opportunity for CHS students. The Ferris Next Scholarship provides CHS students who have completed three classes offered through Ferris with a C or higher with a $1,000 scholarship toward attending Ferris full time. Dr. Eisler signed a citation with Superintendent Rosekrans in front of the board of education. The presentation of the new scholarship opportunity comes after a three-year partnership between CHS and Ferris. Through the partnership, students can receive...

Read More

Lockdown shows CPS has proper procedures in place

Thursday, April 13 Charlotte High School entered into lockdown after a report of student in possession of a weapon on school property. The student was swiftly apprehended and taken into custody, a thorough search was made of places the student had been, the lockdown was lifted, and students were released on time. Other schools in the Charlotte district were also placed on lockdown as a simple precaution. No weapon was found on school property, or otherwise in the student’s possession. Further details of the status of the apprehended student were unavailable, though Superintendent Mark Rosekrans indicated the student will...

Read More

Arts Council the newest addition to Eaton Rapids Quality of Life Board

Every city, large or small, needs its own art. Whether it’s the Motor City, or the Island City, art is what provides a community with a healthy distraction, an adoration for what’s beautiful, and a unifying centerpiece that everyone can call their own. The Eaton Rapids Quality of Life Board is doing what it can to give the Island City an array of community projects through the work of various subcommittees like the River Recreation Committee, Parks Development Committee, Northwestern Park Committee, and the Youth Teen Initiative. The newest, and fully active, subcommittee is the Eaton Rapids Arts Council. “If you build it they will come,” said Christopher Sebastian, chairman of the new arts council. “Anything that can attract emotion from individuals can be good for a community. If there’s an attraction that peaks interest people will come check it out. Anything that can develop foot traffic is great for a community.” The arts council was established to evaluate the assets and blank spaces in the Eaton Rapids downtown, and pinpoint areas where visual art could be displayed. Although to date the arts council has only gathered three times, the four-to-five person council has already selected a few front-running ideas for potential art projects. It’s too early to say which ideas will come to action, according to Sebastian, but the ideas keep coming. “There’s a lot of opportunity and...

Read More

Olivet FFA receives awards at the State FFA Convention

By Dalenna Montague  Olivet FFA Reporter On March 8, 9 and 10, the Olivet FFA received awards at the State FFA Convention held at Michigan State University. Kelsie Letts was elected as the State Region I Vice President of the Michigan FFA Association.  Other special recognition includes: Todd and Sharon Williams, and Jill Cords received the State Honorary FFA Degree. Many individuals received awards. Marcus Pennington, Elyse Zimmerlee, Anna Williams, Catie Graham, Kelsie Letts, Andrew Wietzke, and Jayson Rugg received the Academic Excellence Award. Abby Puskala, Anna Williams, and Paige Fountain received the Washington Leadership Conference Scholarship. Joe Adams,...

Read More

Pin It on Pinterest