The Lansing region has taken note — Charlotte is rising.

CharlotteRising was honored Tuesday, Dec. 6 as a recipient of the Arts Council of Greater Lansing’s Applause Awards — specifically the Creative Community Award. The local non-profit organization was joined by Lansing Mayor Virg Bernero, who received the Civic Leadership Award, as well as Friedland Industries, Tom Ferris, Brian Whitfield, Wharton Center for Performing Arts, and Jeff Croley.

“We have so many wonderful and deserving award recipients again this year,” stated Arts Council executive director, Deborah E. Mikula in a release sent out to local media outlets. “Holiday Glitter is our annual celebration event and the perfect forum for honoring our awardees. Patrons and guests from all across the community are in attendance, ensuring our honorees receive the widespread recognition they deserve.”

CharlotteRising executive director Dillon Rush said the receiving the award is both humbling and inspiring.

“Make no mistake, though the award will find itself in CharlotteRising’s office, the recent accomplishments were achieved through unstoppable creativity in our thinking and in our collaboration between numerous organizations, businesses, and leaders,” Rush said “It is through this sense of community by which we are inspired to aspire for more, and for that, everyone deserves a great deal of praise.”

Rush said CharlotteRising has been steadfast in enlivening the arts and creativity in downtown. Recognition for the hard work is greatly appreciated, said CharlotteRising board president Joe E. Pray.

“We appreciate that the efforts of CharlotteRising and the many individuals who are working to improve Charlotte are being recognized beyond our borders,” Pray said.

This year marks the 33rd year of the Applause Awards. Each recipient was presented with a handcrafted glass award created by Craig Mitchell Smith Glass.

“Honoring these individuals and businesses who are making a difference in their communities through the arts is so important,” Mikula stated. “Our awardees are dedicated to putting art and creativity at the forefront to strengthen and grow our cities and communities, and we are so fortunate to have them in our region.”