Charlotte Public Schools’ Athletic Hall of Fame Committee announced the Class of 2019 honorees on Saturday, May 4, at the annual Charlotte Athletic Boosters Reverse Raffle. There will be an official ceremony on the weekend of Sept. 27, at Charlotte High School. The CPS Athletic Department asked for nominations from the community in one of four categories: community member/volunteers, coaches/administrators, student athletes, and teams.   

Honorees for the CPS Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2019 include:

Community Member

Eldred Toutant: Class of 1939, Athlete, Past administrator at Charlotte Public Schools


Paul Davis: Football Coach

Student Athletes  

Joe Pray Sr., Class of ’45; Benjamin “Lee” Hall, Class of ’57; David Green, Class of ’67; Dave Barrus, Class of ’68; Tim Mohre, Class of ’72; Rocco Moore, Class of ’73; Todd Wertz, Class of ’88; Kristie Brooks, Class of ’94; Joe Taylor, Class of ’95; Amy Corrigan, Class of ’00; and Kyle Haskel, Class of ’04.


1946 Boys Track and Field State Champions, Coached By: Mac Gobel

2011 Girls Bowling State Champions, Coached By: Clark “Woody” Smith and Dave Jackson

The nominees that did not make it into the Class of 2019, will be considered in future years.  We encourage people to begin making nominations for next year’s Class of 2020. When doing so, please send as much information as possible about your nominee.  The nomination forms can be found on the Charlotte Athletic webpage.  Please send all completed nomination forms for the Class of 2020 to: Charlotte Athletic Department, C/O Athletic Hall Of Fame, 378 State St., Charlotte, MI 48813.

Article submitted by Charlotte Public Schools.